IMG_6739

Hey there, I’m Roma, a native Angelino! Born in the Valley and raised our family in the beautiful South Bay (Redondo Beach, CA). I’m mom to Nicolette & Cole, and wife to Eric  for the past 25 years. We met in college at 18 and have been inseparable ever since! He’s my rock, my world, and my best friend! <3

Nicolette is my Pumpkin Pie and Cole is my Bubba! Nic and I are pretty tight and love each other’s company in everything we do. Cole is my Bubba, my love bug and therapist, and gives the best hugs in the whole wide world! 🙂 We spend so much time laughing as a family, and we’re all fluent in sarcasm 😉

Having two children who are now adults, I’ve worn many hats as a mother. I was a skating mom who had two rink rats. Pumpkin received a free ice-skating lesson for her 5th birthday from a friend of ours who was a skating coach, (Arleen Barton – who became Nic’s 2nd Mama) and that was it. She was hooked and the rest of her childhood was spent on the ice. Our world revolved around the training sessions and competition circuit – my poor Bubba – always in tow… she started ice-dancing when she was 10, and she and her partner were the real deal and nationally ranked. What an amazing ride that was. I’m lucky that I didn’t miss a moment – except when she landed her axel and I was, but of course, in the bathroom 50 feet away from this miraculous event!

I also wore the hat of acting mom. My son, Cole, was a child actor for 5 years until starting high school, and when I wasn’t at the ice rink, I was in Hollywood, Burbank or somewhere on the Westside at endless auditions or acting classes. We perfected the word “NEXT” after every audition, and he had some very cool successes along the way, but he eventually tired of the Hollywood machine. Cole and I had so many adventures…relished in the successes…learned from the disappointments, but I’ll tell ya this, he’s one hell of a public speaker now! The boy’s got skills, that’s for sure!

I started experimenting in the kitchen when I was 6 years old. My mom didn’t like to cook at all, and we ate most of our food out of cans or boxes. I was the generation where the TV Dinner and tray table got its start! I can’t remember how much Tang or Carnation Instant Breakfasts I drank…at least a decade’s worth, and spaghetti in our house was Chef Boyardees Spaghetti-O’s from a can, so I came to the realization at an early age that I didn’t want to eat like this the rest of my life!

With a BA in Business & HR Management, I started my career at Warner Bros. back in the 90’s, working in Consumer Products, Retail and Animation for a decade, then moved on to Real Estate for more flexibility with the kids. I’ve loved every moment of being a wife, mother and business woman, but I’m happiest when I’m in the kitchen creating my own recipes, or adapting ones I find to suit my family’s palate!

Throughout this blog you’ll occasionally see the cast of Pug Party of 3! Jack, Roxy & Leroy aka “The Bro”….we are a family of Pugs who bring delight to us each and every day. Their different personalities are hilarious and they keep us laughing day in and day out.

Enjoy!

Roma xo

 

 

IMG_2450

Hello! I’m Nicolette, commonly referred to as Nic or Pumpkin. Born and raised in Redondo Beach, CA, with my younger brother, Cole, and my dad, Eric. We’re a pretty close-knit family who spends the majority of the time laughing at our mistakes and enjoying life for the insane rollercoaster that it is.

I spent the first 15 years of my life, from the moment I can remember, on ice. It sure wasn’t your average childhood, but I loved every minute of it. From ice time, to off-ice, to ballet, to ballroom, to lift class, it was a whirlwind of ups and downs but my parents supported me through it all.

In 2008 we (skating partner and parents) travelled to Salt Lake City for Junior Nationals. My skating partner and I (I practiced two disciplines of figure skating, ice dancing and solo freeskating), gained the 5th place National title that year, and we felt like we were on top of the world!

Fast forward to 2011, time to apply to college! I went on a college road trip with my mom and visited Colorado University at Colorado Springs, Portland State University, and the University of Utah. I applied to a handful of others, but I was admitted to the U (no not the University of Miami) and that was that!

I graduated in May of 2015 with a degree in Strategic Communications, GO UTES! My family then moved to Vancouver, BC for a year for my dad’s job. I moved back to sunny Southern California in April of 2017 and will definitely not be moving away from this gorgeous place anytime soon.

When I returned to CA, I didn’t know what exactly I wanted to do with my life. I had tried my hand in a few different careers and none of them had ignited a spark in me. In the summer of 2017, after I moved back, I had an old coach reach out to me to see if I’d be interested in coaching at a rink that she was managing. I figured, hey why not? I’m not doing anything else and I really did miss the sport.

That was the beginning of my coaching career! I genuinely fell in love with working with children and adults and getting to share my passion with them. I worked at that rink until 2020 when the whole world was shut down due to COVID. I continued to coach at another rink, my home rink, as best as I could with the given circumstances. Fast forward to 2022 and I am now the Communications Director of our facility, and I’m coaching 6 days per week!

It’s truly a dream come true and I feel so lucky to be doing what I love.

This blog, while started in 2016, is now a continuation of things I still really do love. Cooking, baking, shopping, going out with my friends and family, and enjoying life as a 27 year old. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy sharing!

 

XOXO
Nic